Just A Fan, Not A Fangirl Over Fangirl

  

Hello lovely readers!!! I finally have sat down to read Fangirl after hearing so much love and hype over it. I actually picked up my copy from the thrift store for $2 and thought why not. I’m going to start off by saying I liked the book but I don’t love the book. It’s good but for me it just isn’t what I wanted. I can see why so many people love it and maybe I don’t have the same connection with the character Cath.

The novel focuses on Cath who has just become a freshman in college and is still in love with the children’s series Simon Snow. In fact Cath writes fanfiction about two of the characters and it is immensely popular with the people of the Internet. Cath must cope with her twin sister Wren not wanting to do everything with her and meeting new people. 

At first when I read this I almost put it down because many times I thought Cath was immature and unreasonable. I started to keep on with it because it was mentioned she had anxiety and then it clicked why she would seem irrational. Once I got passed that wall the book got much better. I think Rainbow Rowell created wonderful characters like Cath’s roommate Reagan and her always around boytoy Levi. There were parts that just made me laugh out loud. This book can be heart wrenching and hilarious but I’ll tell you what made me just like it. I couldn’t read all the little fanfiction they threw in. I don’t know why but I skipped every passage. Maybe it’s because I’m bitter about Harry Potter and how it’s just a cheap knockoff even though the book acknowledges Harry Potter is also real. Actually I think the acknowledgment that it existed in this universe offended me because of its blatant copying. Maybe because I know the fake author would be sued for copyright infringement. But since I couldn’t read the fanfiction it’s what only made it good and not great. I would give this 3 1/2 stars out of 5.

One thought on “Just A Fan, Not A Fangirl Over Fangirl

Leave a Reply

