Books I’m Donating Part 1

Hello lovely readers!! So there comes a time in your reading life where you don’t like a book or you like other books better so you have to make some tough choices about what to keep because you’re running out of space on your shelves. I’m once again in that stage so I thought it would be a neat idea to post in three parts what I’m getting rid of and why I’m doing it. I donate all my books to my library because they have a sale once a month to help them raise money. I also go there to purchase more books and the cycle starts again.

  
Look Back In Anger by John Osborne: This is actually a play from one of the classes I took this year on British and Irish Drama and I despised it. I was able to write an excellent paper because I hated it so much. The characters aren’t redeeming and everyone is selfish and not in the good way. Look Back In Anger made me angry (ha I’m so funny).

Pamela by Samuel Richardson: I HATE THIS BOOK WITH A BURNING PASSION!!!! I had to read this for a class and I did not want to finish it. It’s about a girl who is a maid and her master wants to sleep with her but she wants to keep her virtue and blah blah blah. Pamela is a simpering idiot and Richardson is a jerk.

Joseph Andrews and Shamela by Henry Fielding: I read these for the same class as Pamela and these are just two parodies of Pamela so I hated these by default.

The Lantern Bearers by Rosemary Sutcliff: This book isn’t bad at all but I probably won’t reread it. It’s a Roman legionnaire take on the Arthurian legend. It’s a good one time read so I’m donating it because I’d rather keep others that I would read again.

A Fast And Brutal Wing by Kathleen Jefferie Johnson: I used to read this book all the time when I was a Freshman in high school. It’s the strangest book I’ve ever read in my life. It’s about two siblings who the sister believes can turn into animals. I don’t remember much else about it because it’s been a long time but I remembered I enjoyed it. It seems like it’s not something that’s in print anymore since the only copies available on Amazon are used. 

Except the Queen by Jane Yolen: I wanted to like this book but I couldn’t. My two main problems with it is its trying to be edgy when it’s like any other fairy YA book trying to be edgy and the ending was such a letdown to what the plot was building up to. It just fell short for me but I know others love this book.

Tess of the d’Urbervilles by Thomas Henry: I have nothing against Tess, in fact I enjoyed Tess when I read it in high school but now I have no use for her. The book is immensely tragic and a bit of a bummer which may be why my classmates hated it. There’s just things I’d rather keep over this book so that’s why it’s going.

Leave a Reply

