Pulse and Prejudice by Colette L. Saucier

Darcy

I received this e-ARC for free through Netgalley courtesy of Southern Girl Press. I was not paid to do this review and all opinions are my own.

Alrighty, now that we are passed the legal stuff lets get into the review. When I was browsing Netgalley for the first time two days ago I saw this book and it intrigued me. I love vampires and I love Pride and Prejudice so I had to put in a request for it because this was either going to be a trainwreck or the best book ever. I can 100% say I am enchanted with this book. Miss Saucier was able to take the story we all know and flip it to Darcy’s story as a vampire and still make it modern and charming. There obviously was some care taken into the book because there were exact quotes used from the novel. The quotes didn’t feel clunky or oddly placed, they blended seamlessly with the rest of the story. The characters still felt like Jane Austen’s originals which is why I loved it. The only difference in plot is Part 4 which has a bit of sex. That was also tastefully done and I had no opposition to the addition. However if you are of a delicate constitution or a parent giving this to a teen reader, skip part 4 and go to the Epilogue.

I did have a few problems with the book that I will list but they did not deter me from reading. I felt the passages from Shakespeare and various poems at the top of some chapters was unnecessary. No matter what book it is (minus Inkheart) the passages seem silly to me. The one other problem I had was the use of accent. Darcy would get angry and there would be something along the lines of “an edge entered his accent.” I just personally didn’t like the word choice. Overall I would give this 4 out of 5 stars. I would definitely read it again and will recommend others to read it.

I know for a fact the book can be purchased on Amazon in Kindle, Hardback, and Paperback. I know the Kindle is $4.99 which is not bad at all for a 360 page book. I am really looking forward to the sequel and will most definitely purchase it.

6 thoughts on “Pulse and Prejudice by Colette L. Saucier

  1. “I love vampires and I love Pride and Prejudice so I had to put in a request for it because this was either going to be a trainwreck or the best book ever.”

    Yes – exactly! So glad to hear you enjoyed it.

    The thing about the Shakespeare passages, etc., is that books in Austen’s time often quoted long passages from other works at various times throughout a novel, so to me, that convention makes the work sound more like it’s at least trying to sound historically accurate. I don’t think that would particularly bother me, though the use of the word “accent” pointed out by you is, I agree, at the least, poor word choice.

    I’m putting this in my “maybe” pile – not sure if the writing style will appeal to me, but I an definitely intrigued. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for taking the time to read my novel and for the lovely review!

      The word “accent” meant something different during the Regency, more like we would use tone of voice today, to convey the mood of the speaker.

      In PRIDE AND PREJUDICE, Miss Austen writes, for example, “her accent was peevish,” he “said in the gentlest of accents,” and “his accent had none of its usual sedateness.” As I was channeling Miss Austen for the adaptation, I applied her word choices and used 19th century literary conventions.

      Warm regards,
      Colette

      Liked by 2 people

      1. “The word “accent” meant something different during the Regency, more like we would use tone of voice today, to convey the mood of the speaker.”

        Ah… interesting. Thank you for explaining your word choice!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

