Miss Mabel’s School For Girls by Katie Cross

Mabel

I received this e-book for free through Netgalley from Antebellum Publishing for review. I was not paid to review this book and all thoughts are my own.

Merry meet dear readers. I just finished this book and needed to write a review ASAP. The first thing I have to say about this book is I wish it came out when Harry Potter ended because I needed this then. This book has such strong parallels to Harry Potter but not in the “oh my god this is plagiarism” way. I won’t go in detail over it because you all will see it when you read it.

This book is about sixteen year old Bianca who goes to attend Miss Mabel’s school in the hopes that Miss Mabel will break the curse that has effected her grandmother, mother, and her. To gain an opportunity to work with Miss Mabel, Bianca enters the Competition. Whoever wins gets to be her assistant. As one can imagine she wins but finds out Miss Mabel is not the woman she thought she was. She is a cruel woman who will manipulate and push Bianca to her very limits.

I wish I could put more but it would spoil everything. This is definitely a book for children and teenagers or anyone trying to fill the Harry Potter void. I don’t want to say this is the next Harry Potter because I don’t think anything can ever reach that level this soon to its ending. Of course that could be my broken heart talking. But this book is fantastic. There were many parts when I was reading where I yelled various profanities at the characters in rage. I would highly recommend this to anyone really. The book does have a sequel that is called Antebellum Awakening which I will be reading at some point. You can buy this book on Amazon in Paperback for $12.99 or Kindle for $4.99.

Leave a Reply

