Passion and Propriety by Elise De Sallier

cover47297-medium

I received this e-ARC from The Writer’s Coffee Shop Publishing House through Netgalley for review. I was not paid and all opinions are my own.

Hello everyone!!! So this book is the first ever “romance” novel I’ve read and I have to say I am impressed. I sat down at around 10:30 pm and didn’t stop reading until it was finished at 2:00 am. Of course when I requested this I was skeptical but the plot was what intrigued me and kept me going.

The story follows a young woman named Hannah who has resigned herself to being a spinster since she has remained uncourted at the age of 27. This has mostly to do with she spent her eligible years taking care of her dying mother and then taking care of her family in her place. When she is visiting her mother’s grave she sees a man slumped on the ground. She finds it is the Viscount William Blackthorn returned after being away so long at war. She takes upon herself the duty of helping him heal since she is a spinster and the rest of the town won’t help because of the Blackthorn curse. Obviously, the two fall in love while Hannah cares for him but both deny their feelings because Hannah is stuck on the fact she is too old and William vows never to marry because of the curse.

What I loved about this novel was how well rounded and strong all the female characters were. Even though Hannah wants to be married with children it is not the only thing about her. She is bossy and kind and funny. Her friend Grace is an opinionated healer with a temper and snark. These women seemed realistic, Miss De Sallier took great care with these women. William is also fleshed out and his internal thoughts through the healing process had me dying. Also William is excellent husband material, like I need to find me one of those. This book had me going YAS at so many parts but in others had me going “no no no no no.” It was remarkably compelling and I’m interested in reading the sequel that will be about Grace.

WARNING: This book does have sex in it so you should probably only read it if you are 18+ or if your parents are cool with you reading that.

This book is available on Amazon for $3.99 on Kindle and $13.98 in Paperback

Leave a Reply

