Song of Summer By Laura Lee Anderson

cover67199-small

I received this e-ARC from Bloomsbury USA Children’s Books through Netgalley for free for an honest review. I was not paid and all opinions are my own.

Hello my friends!!! So summer is now in full swing (good god it’s hot) so I thought it would be the perfect time to read a cute summer romance. That’s what drew me to this book along with it’s unique plot. Our story takes place at the end of summer in a small town. We meet one of our two narrators, Robin who works at the local diner. Robin has just gone through a breakup with her boyfriend Trent who awkwardly works at the diner and plays music at the church with Robin. Robin and her coworkers create a Robin’s Perfect Man list and then walks in a boy that might fit all of those descriptions. There we see our other narrator, Carter who is the typical tall, dark, and handsome who rides a motorcycle. What isn’t typical is Carter is completely deaf and doesn’t care, in fact he doesn’t seem to care for people who can hear. The attraction between the two is immediate and Robin starts to learn pieces of ASL to communicate. Both of them must learn how to manage in the other’s world. Will this blooming love be able to overcome their barriers.

So I liked this book but didn’t love it. I thought it was very cutesy but didn’t have too much substance. I think this book had a lot of potential to be great but I felt like all the main issues were skimmed over. There were parts in the book that made me laugh and even get angry but it wasn’t at the level I was hoping for. Especially with the climax/ending. I felt like there was an attempt to make it Nicholas Sparksesque but I just didn’t like it. It was a nice fluff piece that was a quick read (only 228 pages). Overall I’d give this 3 out of 5 stars.

If you are interested in reading Song of Summer it will be available on July 7th for Kindle for $4.99 (pre order is only $3.82).

Leave a Reply

