Darkhaven By A. F. E. Smith

cover66465-small

I received this e-ARC for free from HarperCollins UK through Netgalley for an honest review. I was not paid and all opinions are my own.

Hello everyone!!! I am so so so excited to be writing this review. When I was browsing through Netgalley this book seemed like the perfect fantasy book for me and was not expecting to be accepted for a copy since it seemed like one every person wanted. But I got it and it is so amazing.

Darkhaven takes place in a medievalesque city ruled by Florentyn who is a Changer. Florentyn’s family is the only line of Changers in the area so when he is murdered his daughter Ayla is accused since her brother Myrren cannot Change. However the murder was not the first attack done by this Changer since a priestess named Serenna was attacked as well. While Ayla is on the run, she meets up with a shamed ex guard Tomas Caraway who is the one responsible for the death of her mother. Myrren is trying to prove Ayla’s innocence by recruiting the help of Sister Serenna since she is the only one who saw the Changer’s form. Myrren and Serenna decide there must me another child of Florentyn born before Myrren. That is how they find Elisse and her bodyguard Sorrow. The ultimate question is Elisse responsible for the murder? If not her then who?

Okay this novel is beautiful. Just the descriptions of characters and places and fabrics are gorgeous. Ms. Smith clearly took time to shape her world with these descriptions. This would make a stunning film. Also the characters are so refreshing and real. The villains are scum but you are given insight into what motivates them which is fantastic. I loved the budding relationship between Myrren and Serenna, I thought it was so naturally created. Tomas Caraway was such a Sydney Carton figure and I love Sydney Carton so he was perfect. I can perfectly see the character of Sorrow played by Gwendoline Christie if it was a movie. This is a stand alone novel which is great because I haven’t seen many of those in the fantasy section for a long time. It’s just lovely and amazing and I wish it was offered in hardcover because I would buy this for its cover in a heartbeat.

The book will be available for purchase on Kindle for $3.99 on July 2. I 100% recommend this book and I am so grateful for this opportunity by HarperCollins to read it.

2 thoughts on “Darkhaven By A. F. E. Smith

  1. Fantastic review. I have never even heard of this book before, but now you have me really eager to read this it. I didn’t read much fantasy, but I fell in love with the YA series Throne of Glass and that really got me into the genre. I really hope to read more fantasy and this seems like a great place to start.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve heard amazing things about Throne of Glass!!! I need to read it. I just thought this was such a great stand alone book which is rare right now. Sometimes I don’t want to commit to a whole series.

      Like

Leave a Reply

