Two King Arthur Reboots! What More Could A Girl Want?

Hello lovely readers! This week I have heard some amazing film news!!! Disney is doing a live action adaptation of The Sword In The Stone and photos have been released for Guy Ritchie’s Knights of the Round Table: King Arthur. I have been and always will be a die hard King Arthur fanatic. It started when I was little watching Quest For Camelot and went downhill from there. Since then I have read a crazy amount of King Arthur books and I just finished a course in Arthurian Legends so I’d say I’m a bit of an every man expert on the subject. 

  
Disney’s really seems to be on this animation to live action kick so we are being given edgier and modern ideas put in our beloved childhood classics. Disney clearly wants some kind of edge to this reboot since they’ve hired Bryan Cogman, one of the Game of Thrones writers, to do the script. I’m assuming we won’t be pushing too many boundaries since this is the young Arthur and one would assume it would be geared to younger audiences. At this point no casting has been listed or a release date. I would assume we wouldn’t have this film until 2017 so it won’t be competing directly with Ritchie’s in 2016.

  
On the other hand, we are getting an immensely gritty version of Arthur with Ritchie’s film. We have a street smart Arthur raised by five prostitutes that will take the throne. I think we need an Arthur with an edge and violence in this modern day and age. The idea of a rough and tumble and rather douchey Arthur isn’t new. Many of the old stories have Arthur being immensely arrogant and wants to fight everything. I have to agree with the casting of Charlie Hunnam for this dark Arthur. He seems to be able to play tough guys well since his success on Sons of Anarchy. I am pleased with some of the other casting which includes the lovely Katie McGrath as Elsa. I’m unsure as to who Elsa is but I’m hoping for a Morgan Le Fay type character. It’s great to see her returning to the Arthurian England since the end of Merlin. She has proved time and time again that she can play characters with hidden depths like in her character Lucy in NBC’s Dracula (ended too soon). We also have the rather odd inclusion of Jude Law as Vortigern. Vortigern is supposed to be this evil dictator and I can see that with Jude Law but not in a barbarian conqueror way. I’m interested in what he will bring to the plot. If all goes well we will have a series of films that I am hoping will follow each knight individually. Ritchie is worried about purist reactions but there really is no wrong way to do an Arthur origin since the legend is vast and has many “starting” points.

So do you agree with the casting of Charlie Hunnam as Arthur or would you rather have someone else? Who would you like to see in the Disney version?

Leave a Reply

