The Worst Book To Movie Adaptations

Hey everyone! We’ve all been through this. We find a book we absolutely fall in love with and want it to make it to the big screen. Then our dreams come true and we have some regrets. Maybe we should have been more specific in our wishing. Maybe we should have said a good movie. We see the cast list slowly appear and get more and more nervous but push our fears aside because maybe we are being too hasty. We get to the theater and find that our fears have been founded. The movie is a trainwreck. It has strayed so far from the books that you wonder can it even be called an adaptation.

I know this feeling all too well, so I’ve complied a list of the worst adaptations. Your’s might be different or the same but these are the movies that let me down the most.

  1. EragoneragonLiterally the worst movie adaptation I’ve ever seen in my life. This movie is basically just a whole different plot with the same name and characters. The costumes were awful because at one point Eragon is wearing what looks like a white medievalesque top and blue jeans. The acting was appalling.  Everyone seemed so lifeless and the fact that the guy who played Eragon was able to get a job after this film is amazing. Saphira looks totally wrong too. She’s blue and that’s about all that is correct. Honestly, the onlly saving grace of this movie is Jeremy Irons. If I could have this movie remade the only person I would keep would be him. Maybe I’m biased because I love Jeremy Irons. This movie gets a negative ten out of ten.
  2. The Lightning Thief Percy-Jackson-the-Olympians-The-Lightning-Thief-2010.jpegNot as bad as Eragon but still not good. I felt like they took what was an excellent and action filled book and turned it into a boring movie. Everything just felt lack luster to me. The fight scenes were over so fast and without any style. The capture the flag scene was also not good. There just seemed to be a lack of heart that went into this. Also Annabeth is blonde for goodness sakes. I know when they did the second movie of this (which I did not see) they made her blonde but really its too late. Only saving thing of this movie was Nathan Fillion as Hermes.
  3. City of BonesThe-Mortal-Instruments-City-of-Bones-banner.jpgJust bad. I mean I don’t know how else to put it. Horrible casting choices I think was this film’s main issue. It again goes with the lifelessness thing I talked about before. Also no one looked right in my opinion but maybe that’s just me. However, the new Shadowhunters TV show is pretty good. Not 100% like the book but still good. My review of the pilot can be found here.
  4. Bram Stoker’s Dracula443This movie is such an issue for me. There is a lot I like but there’s a lot I hate and ultimately that outweighs the good it does. For the most part I’m a fan of the casting. Gary Oldman and Anthony Hopkins were fantastic choices as Dracula and Van Helsing. If I could redo this movie they would stay for sure. They embody all the things I enjoyed from each character. Unfortunately, their amazing performances don’t outshine the disasters that are Keanu Reeves and Winona Rider. They are god awful. Keanu Reeves cannot do a British accent to save his life. He sounds like a surfer who happens to live in England so he may have slightly picked up an accent. Winona makes Mina, my favorite character, immensely dull and simpering. I also cannot enjoy the love story with Drac and Mina because it does not exist in the book and I just hate that we have to add this weird romantic, reincarnation plot to a perfectly good story. It’s silly really. The things this movie does right is Lucy’s transformation into a vampire and just Gary Oldman as Dracula. My other issue is the blatant over sexualization of Lucy. Lucy is a flirt but never sexaully explicit. It’s too much and completely out of character.

So those are my four main terrible adaptations. If  you could add to the list what would you put? Any disappointments I missed (or didn’t miss) out on? Let me know down below.

2 thoughts on “The Worst Book To Movie Adaptations

  1. It’s not a movie, but series (which I know is not what you’re talking about, but well); Under the Dome. The book is great (until the seriously disappointing and anticlimactic ending), but the movie is totally different, like you mentioned for the Eragon one: same names of characters that’s it (plus, they’re stuck under a dome). One of the characters that dies on the first page of the book (just about), just lives through everything and is one of the main characters in the series. It’s one of the worst book to screen adaptations I’ve ever seen.

    I’ve only seen the Percy Jackson one from the ones that you’ve mentioned and yes, that one was horrible. (The second one didn’t get any better).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

